Assessment and listing processes

The first NT Threatened Species List using (International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN)) criteria was produced in 2003. This was reviewed in 2007 and again in 2012, resulting in the current List. The NT Threatened Species List is reviewed every four to five years and is currently under review.

Public comment is a vital component of the review process and is required under the Territory Parks and Wildlife Conservation Act 1976. In past reviews, public consultation was part of the listing process, and in the current 2019 review the community will again be invited to have their say.

Information from the public on distribution and abundance of native species of concern is always welcome via our online portals.

Nominations of species for higher or lower threatened status can be lodged in submissions to this review, or sent to at any time.

Any new data or information provided in the submission will be combined with available data in NT Government datasets to assess the species’ conservation status using the IUCN criteria.

Assessing the status of species

The Species Survival Commission of the IUCN has developed a classification system and criteria for use in assessing the conservation status of species. This system has been widely adopted by conservation agencies around the world.

The Australian Government and all Australian states and territories have recently agreed to assess and categorise threatened species in the same way (the Common Assessment Method (CAM)), which is based on the IUCN classification system.

To classify the conservation status of species into a series of categories, reflecting different levels of conservation concern, the IUCN uses criteria relating to:

  • absolute size, number of sub-populations and extent of reduction in population size
  • extent, degree of fragmentation, and degree of fluctuation in geographic range (both the extent of occurrence and the area of occupancy) and
  • quantitative analysis of the probability of extinction.

Previous assessments of conservation status were done at the scale of the NT and the threat category for a species in the NT sometimes differed to their status in other states or at the national level.

This was due to regional differences and/or differences in scale.

Under the agreement by all Australian states and territories to use the CAM, all jurisdictions will assess at the national scale, resulting in consistent listings for a species across its range.

This shift in scale of assessment has implications for a variety of NT species and has resulted in several proposed changes to the list. Some species have been added or had their threat level increased, while others have moved down the list or been removed.

Threatened wildlife

Under the Territory Parks and Wildlife Conservation Act 1976, species are considered to be threatened wildlife when classified as

  • Extinct in the Wild
  • Critically Endangered
  • Endangered or
  • Vulnerable.

Threatened wildlife are automatically given protected wildlife status.

Listing process

Changes to the conservation status several species have been proposed in this review.

For each of these cases a draft assessment, based on the IUCN criteria, has been drafted and discussed by a Threatened Species Expert Panel.

This panel comprises of members from CSIRO, CDU as well as from across three departments of the NT Government.

The Expert Panel has recommended these changes to the Minister for Parks and Wildlife, who has authorised this period of Public Consultation on the proposed new list. The documents presented on this website for each threatened species are derived from these approved draft assessments.

The Expert Panel will consider all submissions from the public and will outline all comments to submissions and changes resulting from submissions on the NT Government website.

The resulting proposed new classification will be recommended to the minister.

To finalise the list, the minister must present the classification to the Administrator for approval, before the new list is published in the Government Gazette. At that time the new Classification of Wildlife (and Threatened Species List) comes into force.

Last updated: 25 January 2021

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!