NT EPA Chairperson announced


The Northern Territory Government has today announced Dr Paul Vogel as the new NT EPA Chairperson.

Dr Vogel brings a wealth of knowledge, qualifications and experience to the role, having served as the chairman of the WA EPA from 2007-2015 and also as the chairman of the SA EPA from 2002-2007.

Minister for Environment and Natural Resources Lauren Moss said the appointment of Dr Vogel continued the Government’s strong commitment to environmental reform.

“It gives me great pleasure to announce current NT EPA member Dr Paul Vogel will be stepping into the role of Chairperson,” Ms Moss said.

“As a Government we are committed to managing and protecting our environment and abundant natural resources so future generations can also benefit from them economically, socially and culturally.

“A key part of making this goal a reality is ensuring the NT EPA continues to provide Government with solid advice on environmental impacts of development proposals and environmental regulatory reforms aimed at improving transparency, certainty and confidence in the environmental assessment and approval system.

“Dr Vogel’s experience and achievements in leading significant reform and enhancing relationships with stakeholders is considered invaluable as the Northern Territory embarks on a major environmental regulatory reform agenda, including clarification of the EPA’s role and administration.”

Dr Paul Vogel said he looked forward to the job ahead and would work with the board and all other stakeholders to achieve the best environmental outcomes.

“I’m delighted to be appointed as the NT EPA Chairperson,” Dr Vogel said.

“The NT EPA has important responsibilities in advising the Government about ecologically sustainable development and protecting the environment from the impacts of the economy.

“I very much look forward to working with my fellow EPA board members, industry and community in delivering those responsibilities and assisting Government in delivering its significant environmental legislative reform agenda.”

Minister Moss also invited Territorians to apply for the vacant position on the NT EPA through an expression of interest process.

“The NT EPA comprises six members and I am now calling for expressions of interest for the final position on the NT EPA Board,” Ms Moss said.

“The Northern Territory Environment Protection Authority Act establishes criteria that the person has skills, knowledge and experience in; environmental science, environment and natural resource management, waste management and pollution control, economic analysis, social analysis, business, environmental law and management in a regulatory field.”

Acting NT EPA chairperson Gary Nairn and former NT EPA chairperson Dr Bill Freeland were also thanked for the time and contribution to the role.

“I would like to thank Gary Nairn for his time as Acting Chair while the position remained vacant during the past few weeks.

“Mr Nairn continues to serve as chairperson of the NT Planning Commission and therefore remains a member of the NT EPA.

“The Territory Labor Government was elected on a platform of significant environmental reform.

“In the interests of pursuing this agenda I am pleased to announce Dr Paul Vogel as the new NT EPA Chairperson and look forward to seeing his work in the Territory in the near future.”

Further information is available at www.ntepa.nt.gov.au/member-eoi.

Share this page:

URL copied!