Land management technical notes and fact sheets

The management of soil is an important consideration, particularly where soil types may be prone to severe erosion such as in Central Australia or are in locations that experience heavy monsoonal rains. Preventing erosion and soil loss makes sense economically and environmentally and most new subdivision and large developments in the Northern Territory, including clearing of native vegetation for agricultural, horticultural and non pastoral purposes, now require erosion and sediment control plans (ESCPs) to be developed and implemented during construction and establishment phases.

There are number of types of erosion, these include:

  • rill
  • sheet
  • gully
  • stream bank and bed erosion
  • tunnel and wind erosion.

Each type of erosion may require differing management methods.

The need for soil conservation in agricultural landscapes in the wet dry tropics of the Northern Territory is well documented. Key research undertaken in the 1990s in the Douglas Daly region quantified the loss of soil under different management systems.

Soil erosion can disrupt the progress of development works, create additional development and maintenance costs, damage infrastructure and cropping areas and discharge sediment into waterways and wetlands.

Additionally, sheet erosion can remove the most valuable and fertile portion of the soil that will result in reduced yields and productivity, failed revegetation and adversely affect the productive value of the land.

Effective erosion control programs require planning and controlled implementation. The use of Erosion and Sediment Control Plans (ESCPs) is recommended to set out erosion and sediment control methods, strategies and works appropriate to specific land use and developments.

Technical notes and fact sheets

Technical notes and fact sheets on the following topics can be found on the Northern Territory Government website:

If you have questions in relation to soil management, soil conservation or land management, contact the Department of Environment and Natural Resources Land Management Unit.

Last updated: 23 March 2016

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!