About us

The Department of Environment and Natural Resources was established by the Northern Territory Government on 12 September, 2016.

The government created the department to bring together many of the key functions that foster and protect the environment and natural resources in the Northern Territory (NT).

This includes water, land resource management and environmental issues.

The Department of Environment and Natural Resources has the following divisions:

The department has one minister, one CEO and operates in various locations in the NT.

Strategic plan

Department’s Strategic Plan 2017-2020  PDF (2.1 MB)

Annual reports

Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) Annual Report

Our Minister

Hon Eva Lawler

Our management

CEO Jo Townsend

Our boards and committees

View a listing of the departments boards and committees.

Last updated: 19 November 2020

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.